Error loading page.
Try refreshing the page. If that doesn't work, there may be a network issue, and you can use our self test page to see what's preventing the page from loading.
Learn more about possible network issues or contact support for more help.

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.


Expand title description text
Publisher: HarperCollins
Edition: Unabridged

OverDrive Listen audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780061802157
  • File size: 29467 KB
  • Release date: November 18, 2008
  • Duration: 01:01:16

MP3 audiobook

  • ISBN: 9780061802157
  • File size: 29467 KB
  • Release date: November 18, 2008
  • Duration: 01:01:16
  • Number of parts: 1


Loading

Formats

OverDrive Listen audiobook
MP3 audiobook

Languages

English

Levels

ATOS Level:3.4
Lexile® Measure:650
Interest Level:4-8(MG)
Text Difficulty:2-3

This beloved Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan's chapter book series about the Witting family.

Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna's point of view, Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa's advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children's literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder's Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tall gently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.

Read the rest of the Sarah books by Patricia MacLachlan: Skylark, Caleb's Story, More Perfect than the Moon, and Grandfather's Dance.


Expand title description text
  • Details

    Publisher:
    HarperCollins
    Edition:
    Unabridged

    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    ISBN: 9780061802157
    File size: 29467 KB
    Release date: November 18, 2008
    Duration: 01:01:16

    MP3 audiobook
    ISBN: 9780061802157
    File size: 29467 KB
    Release date: November 18, 2008
    Duration: 01:01:16
    Number of parts: 1

  • Creators
  • Formats
    OverDrive Listen audiobook
    MP3 audiobook
  • Languages
    English
  • Levels
    ATOS Level: 3.4
    Lexile® Measure: 650
    Interest Level: 4-8(MG)
    Text Difficulty: 2-3
  • Reviews

    Loading